Kindness…is where it starts

It happened again today..yet another terror attack this time in Belgium’s capital. Sadly 30 people have died…many others hurt.

From a moms perspective it scares the crap out of me , I’m not going to lie. I wonder how many other parents think the same as I do. I wonder every time I go to a mall or a sporting event , am I going to have to plan my escape route  every time I leave my home. Is this the way I want to live or do I want my kids to see me worry ? I’m not sure what the answer is. I know somewhere in Belgium a parent,sister ,brother ,mom or dad ,cousin , co- worker or friend is grieving now because of senseless acts of violence, it breaks my heart.I know they are not the only ones that are hurting it seeps into every area of the world.

My kids ask my how could someone hate someone so bad even when they never met them? Why would someone do this? Who are these people? Why ,why,why……….How do you answer these questions..I’m at a loss.

I do know this our God is bigger! Our God is stronger! Our God is with us! I rest in my faith that even though I can’t do anything to stop these people from hurting others I can pray for them,pray that they find the truth,the way and the life  and they stop this … this hate. I hug my kids and tell them we do better when we know better. It starts with not teasing the person down the road if they are different,not judging someone because they look different or have different customs…..it’s okay to be different . Start with kindness…it takes just a second to smile or help someone who dropped something. It all starts with being kind… so easy…we are not born hating so somewhere down the line things for some change…

Kindness and love,after  explaining the PG version of the days events my lesson to my kids will be  kindness and love .I sure hope and pray this hate and violence ends.

Hug those babies..kiss their toes and hold them tight…spend the extra time reading to them even when they know how to read. Help them become loving ,kind beautiful grownups that will make a difference in the world.

Thanks for letting me vent…big hugs and blessing to you….Kris

Leave a Reply

